Schindler’s List

Steven Spielberg yet again did an amazing job with this film from 1993. Like all other movies I watch and come to love, I cannot help but say how much I cannot believe it has taken me this long to watch them. Schindler’s List is a name that one cannot just avoid, it is a movie recognized and heard by all but not seen and appreciated by all. That is a very sad fact indeed that I only now realize.

schindlers-list-poster

Schindler’s List is based on a novel by Thomas Keneally; Schindler’s Ark, and further based on a true story lived by Oskar Schindler himself. The film follows Oskar Schindler played by Liam Neeson as he lives his life being a German businessman during the Holocaust. His story is one that becomes unique and surprising when he goes about secretly saving the lives of over a thousand Polish-Jewish people. He does this by giving them jobs at his factories but making it look like they are his slaves.

Taking place under Nazi power and more importantly during the Holocaust, one would expect this movie to have it’s fare share of horrific truths. That is indeed the case throughout the majority of the movie. At times I was left wondering how much worse that society and people in that time could become. I was left feeling such deep emotions regarding all those innocent people that were treated horribly at the time for simply being Jewish.

mr.schindler

itzhak-stern

ralph phines

Although being a particularly sad movie I really did enjoy it completely.  Some of the enjoyment definitely came from the absolutely phenomenal casting choices that Steven Spielberg made. Liam Neeson played his role perfectly and I could not have imagined any one else doing as well as he. Ben Kingsley, another amazing actor played Itzhak Stern; Schindler’s personal business partner and accountant. On top of that Ralph Fiennes was also added to the list with his role as Amon Goeth; and exceptionally psychopathic and intriguing character that grows as a person throughout the film.

Another great aspect of this movie was the choice of having it be in black and white. The year 1993 was definitely a year of colour films but this shocking choice made Schindler’s List stand out. I don’t know the true purpose behind the risky choice but it does seem logical to portray such a dark and depressing time in history by making the film solely black and white.

Over all I would recommend this movie to anyone. Whether you are an action lover, a hopeless romantic, or a horror fanatic, I think this film touches a bit on all of that and pleases most of its viewers. Although it is quite lengthy with its full 3 hours and 25  minutes, I say this film is worth anybody’s time. I therefore give Schindler’s List a 9 out of 10. That one last star was taken away because although I loved this film entirely it was a bit too long, and it would not be one that I plan on re-watching several times.

 

2 comments on “Schindler’s List

  1. This man was a truly remarkable hero. The movie really explained that.

Leave a comment